Enquire now

+44 (0)1628 638001

Service Now Gold Partner

What is ITIL?

ITIL Definition

ITIL® stands for Information Technology Infrastructure Library and is the most recognised and widely used best practice framework for service delivery around the globe. ITIL® was developed in the 1980s by what is now the Office of Government Commerce, drawing from both private and public sector industries, to ensure that IT services are organised in such a way to best support a business’ transformation and growth by delivering quality services and value to its customers.

The ITIL Framework

The ITIL® framework is a set of standardised processes and procedures, using a common language with well-defined terms, based on the 5 stages of service life cycle.

ITIL Service Lifecycle

The 5 stages of the service lifecycle are:

• Service Strategy
• Service Design
• Service Transition
• Service Operation
• Continual Service Improvement.

The relationship which each of these stages or processes bear to one another as well as what each is made up of is illustrated in the model below:

itil framework diagram.

ITIL Roles

Within the ITIL® framework there exist a number of roles which can be outlined as the following:• Process Owner – Ensures Fit for Purpose

• Process Manager – Monitors and Reports on Process
• Service Owner – Accountable for Delivery
• Service Manager – Responsible for initiation, transition and maintenance (i.e. the whole ITIL lifecycle)

ITIL V3 Overview

ITIL® is an ever evolving framework with changing business demands and technology. The most recent version of ITIL is ITILv3. Launched in 2007, this version is more fine-tuned than its previous versions and as well as tactical and operational service management guidelines, it also gives prominence to strategic ITIL® guidance relevant to more senior IT staff.

*ITIL® is a Registered Trade Mark of AXELOS Limited